top of page

I Felt Sparks


Most of us have had that feeling when first meeting someone and you feel immediately connected to them. It’s as if you’ve known them for years and actually contemplated if you have me them already. Perhaps you met in a past life, or maybe you were just really drunk when you met, and their memory, like so many things, was lost. I think it’s safe to say, for most people, maybe even all of us, when you first meet someone you will or will not feel a spark.

Call me a fool for love, but I do believe in sparks. I do believe in a connection, I do believe in recognition of ones counterpart in another. Have you ever met someone and just known? Or told one of your friends, “I feel like I’ve known for them years.” Where does that come from? Should we be less naive than that? Is it quite possible that “connection” is just your subconscious getting along with their subconscious? A lot of questions I know, but such as life always will demonstrate, some two people are meant to be together more than others. We will continue to be confronted with couples whom, dare I be so bold to even say it, are meant to be together as much as not meant to be together. But, the reason for staying together for better or for worse is the same, “I felt sparks.” If in the end there are only ashes, there was once still a flame.

Do you agree or disagree with this next question? Does the presence of a spark need to be shown in order for a relationship to flourish, if so when? I have felt the spark very hot to my skin in my past, so much so – it burnt. When you feel a white hot flame in the beginning is that a red flag? Will the spark inevitably fizzle into a burnt stick staring you in the face, while you contemplate where it all went wrong? Perhaps slowly manifesting flames are best.

How often do we hear from our friends or acquaintances, “there wasn’t any sparks”, and the date and the person are brushed off without a care. It’s an age-old excuse, “we just didn’t have any chemistry.” As soon as that saying is used as justification for not further pursuing someone no ever says boo about it.

Regardless I can’t help but wonder, is it possible we rely too heavily on the sensation of the spark in order to believe there is potential for warmer flames. What happens if you feel the spark days, weeks or months later? It’s possible we brush off people too quickly. No sign of a flint and we fall back on, “no sparks, next!” I think this is where the heartbreak of potential love lost lies (little bit of a tongue twister there). It’s possible we will continue to make the same mistakes about how we feel or not feel about a person and never learn.

In life it’s within our control to manage the amount of risk we would like to take or not take. Would you agree the same could be said about dating? You take a risk by putting yourself out there, going on dates and seeing potential candidates. What if you had a first date felt no sign of spark but were asked to go on a second one – would you risk it? Like I mentioned above sparks could be late to arrive at the party. Potential sparks may live in the third, fourth or even tenth date, but the risk of wasting your time might be too hard to fathom. However for love or a relationship, again, do you risk it? Therefore the excuse of “there was just no spark” will continue to live another day. Which then goes without saying, does this mean the passed opportunities of real love will continue to die another? I guess it’s only you who can decide.

XOXO Witty Kitty


bottom of page